Mobile friendliness

I’m new to Indico…there is a lot of great stuff here, and we have decided to make use of it for the Linux Plumbers Conference this year. One thing that sticks out, though, is that the system has not been designed for small-screen use. We may be able to find some resources to push things in that direction, but it seems surprising to me that nobody else appears to be working on this. Is there a responsive-site effort out there that I’m unaware of that we could perhaps join into?

Thanks!

4 Likes

Hi there,

We are aware that mobile-friendliness is not Indico’s strongest point and we’d really like to change that. We first experimented with the idea of a separate mobile website back in 2012 and the result was far from perfect (the technology was not mature enough and we aimed for something too general that missed important functionality). Since then, our stance is that there are two different possible paths to a quality mobile experience that are not necessarily mutually exclusive:

1. A responsive interface, at least on the user’s side - this would require an overhaul of the CSS and even the design of conference/meeting pages;
  2. Per-conference native applications, possibly based on a (React Native?) SDK maintained by the project - organizers would still be able to tailor the application to their liking and add their components;

I don’t know which option sounds most appealing to you, but there is already some work done here at CERN on mobile apps that integrate with Indico’s API. We could probably open source it, if you’d like to go that way.
I personally think that option 2 is the one that would be the easiest to achieve in the short term.

3 Likes

I think both options have there pros and cons. Much of it depends on which part in a conference life cycle should be used mobile.