Deployment process from DEV to PROD VM

HI,

I have both a development VM and a production VM (built as per installation guide)

One of the processes that we run on development when we start the application up is

./bin/maintenance/build-assets.py indico --dev --watch (as per guide)

Within the local codebase on the development VM I have changed some code, and by restarting the application we can see the effects of our changes.

Can you please advise on what I need to do to copy from my development VM to my production VM (and where to place it) to allow me to port my changes from dev to prod.

I assume an rpm will need to be built / is being built? – can you please advice on any processes I need to undertake on dev VM as well to prepare the code for prod.

As you can tell, I am new to working both with Indico and the linux environment.

Also please note that when I say prod, we are of course gong via UAT first, but this has been configured just as out production VM has.

Buiild a wheel using ./bin/maintenance/build-wheel.py indico and install that on the production machine using pip install indico-*.whl

Some useful commandline arguments of this script:

--no-assets           skip building assets
  --add-version-suffix  Add a local suffix (+yyyymmdd.hhmm.commit) to the
                        version

I would recommend you to use --add-version-suffix so each build has an increasing version number; that way you can easily install a later wheel the same way to update.

Tried above and got errors

[indico@centos indico]$ cd src
[indico@centos src]$ ./bin/maintenance/build-wheel.py indico 
Usage: build-wheel.py [OPTIONS] COMMAND [ARGS]...

Error: Invalid value for "--target-dir" / "-d": Directory "dist/" does not exist.
[indico@centos src]$ pwd
/home/indico/dev/indico/src
[indico@centos src]$ mkdir dist
[indico@centos src]$ ./bin/maintenance/build-wheel.py indico 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./bin/maintenance/build-wheel.py", line 334, in <module>