Room booking: There was a database error while processing your request

Hey everyone!

Just installed Indico using the Ubuntu/Apache installation guide. I had to do a couple reinstalls because I wasn’t able to open the indico page using hostname but now that sorta works (I can open it through 127.0.1.1 for some reason).

I get the page in a very weird format as seen below and I’m not honestly sure why:
ubuntuindico

More importantly it gives me a database error. I followed the guide point by point so I’m pretty sure I didn’t mess up there. I’m new to Indico so I’m not sure where to look what the error/issue is. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Please let me know if I can add anything else to make the issue clearer.

Thank you!

Check the indico.log for the traceback. It would be nice if you could share the traceback with us.

Hey, thanks for replying!

I was able to fix it by just pretty much preparing the db from scratch using indico db prepare. I’m assuming the multiple installs I did broke something.
It’s good now, thank you!

1 Like

This may be a bit off topic so I apologize, but what can I do about the “html’ish” page? I’m using Firefox Developer Edition (71.0b3) but it still tells me to update my browser.

Weird, the database contents should never cause broken CSS (even on the error page).

Anyway, if you fixed it now it’s great. You might want to try accessing /somethinginvalid to make sure the (404) error page looks correct.

I think something is wrong with your CSS and/or JavaScript. Are you sure the aliases in your nginx/apache config are correct? Check your browser’s developer console for errors.

The outdated-browser message showing up, just like the broken styling in your screenshot, are usually caused by CSS/JS being broken.

Yeah I checked the config
Loads of errors in the console: https://hastebin.com/futerofuro.rb though :cry:

Edit: I tried accessing an invalid route, it does show me an error but again in broken js/css
broken